Skip to main content

CAAJ meeting: Deliberation upon Chandigarh meeting and Raipur Convention on proposed CG Journalists' Security Act

New Delhi

A review and follow-up meeting of CAAJ was held in the Press Club of India, New Delhi on Saturday January 12th, 2018. It was attended by representatives from Delhi NCR, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab and Haryana.

After the successful National Convention Against Assault on Journalists organised in September 2018, this was the first formal meeting of CAAJ constituents where the following agenda was put up for discussion:

a) Moving forward with expansion process of CAAJ (membership mechanism etc.)
b) A Convention in Raipur for mobilisation in favor of Journalist Security Act, Chhattisgarh, around third week of January.
c) Institutionalisation of CAAJ through state level meetings, state coordination committees etc.
d) Maintenance of blog, social media accounts and a rapid response team.
e) Meeting of CAAJ constituents.
f) Other miscellaneous issues that arise out of discussion. 

CAAJ core team was involved in the production of a booklet in English and Hindi conainining detailed session-wise NCAAJ report as well as database of attacks on journalists in India till December 2018.

Both the reports were formally released in the meeting in he presence of senior journalists Anand Swaroop Verma, Mangalesh Dabral, Ibbar Rabbi, Jitendra Kumar, Anil Chaudhary, Shiv Inder Singh, Mandeep Punia, Abhishek Srivastava, Ajeet Yadav, Sandeep Rauzi, Ajay Prakash and many others, 

The reports can be accessed from the following links:

Apart from deliberation on the expansion of CAAJ and sustaining the process two immediate programs were taken.

1) A meeting in Chandigarh on the successful verdict in the murder of journalist Chhatrapati Ram Chander in the third week of January.

2) A seminar on Chhattisgarh Journalist Security Act draft in Raipur in February firsts week.

For Raipur Seminar, a coordination committee was formed consisting of following:

a) Lalit Surjan                   (Raipur)
b) Lakhan Singh                (")
c) Kamal Shukla                (")
d) Anand Swaroop Verma (Delhi)
e) Abhishek Srivastava       (")
f) Sandeep Rauzi                 (")

A coordination Committee of CAAJ was formed in Delhi consisting of the following:

a) Nityanand Gayen
b) Ajay Prakash
c) Jitendra Chahar

For running and maintaining CAAJ social media properties, Mandeep Punia was assigned the responsibility.

Mandeep Punia was also assigned responsibility of coordinating for Chandigarh meeting in association with Shiv Inder Singh.

A follow-up meeting for Raipur and Chandigarh events would be called very soon after contacting with local representatives and finalising venue, date and time.


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

"Republic In Peril": Summary report of attacks on Journalists in Delhi post CAA

The Committee Against Assault on Journalists (CAAJ) releases a report titled "Republic In Peril" on recent cases of Assaults on Journalists in Delhi covering three months from December 2019 to February 2020. This report documents a total of 32 cases of various types of Assaults on Journalists covering socio-political developments in the capital city of India after the eruption of anti-CAA protests. The report outlines three phases of assault in Delhi. First in December, 2019 that started after anti-CAA protests erupted with centrestage being Jamia Millia Islamia University. A total of seven cases have been documented where Journalists who went to cover Jamia were assaulted physically. These assaulted journalists included mainstream news channels, agency, international media BBC and digital platforms. The assaulters included mob and police. This first phase lasted for five days from December 15 to December 20, 2019 although assaults continued nationwide for

Fourteen Journalists assaulted while covering anti-CAA protests till date! Here is the list

Amidst the on-going nationwide protest against CAA-NRC several journalist were attacked, intimidated and harassed by the police when they were doing the ground reporting. Ironically most of them come from the minority Muslim community. It shows the bias against the certain community from the state machinery. Several other photo and video journalists were also harassed in these protests by the mobs and protesters.  Here is the current list of the attacked journalists (11/12/19 - 21/12/19):

ओडिशा: रेत माफिया के खिलाफ लिखने पर पत्रकार के ऊपर जानलेवा हमला

ओडिशा के बालासोर में एक उडि़या दैनिक के पत्रकार के ऊपर बुधवार की रात कुछ लोगों ने हमला कर के उन्‍हें बुरी तरह से जख्‍मी कर दिया, जब वे अपने घर से दफ्तर लौट रहे थे। पत्रकार ने हमलावरों की पहचान रेत माफिया के रूप में की है।   उडि़या के प्रतिष्ठित दैनिक समाज के पत्रकार  प्रताप पात्रा  के ऊपर बुधवार की रात नौ बजे धारदार हथियारों से हमला किया गया। उनके सिर, छाती और हाथ पर हमला किया गया लेकिन हेलमेट पहने होने के कारण उनकी जान बच गई, हालांकि हमले में हेलमेट टूट गया और सिर फट गया। हमलावर उनका मोबाइल फोन और सोने की चेन लेकर भाग गए। प्रताप ने कुछ दिन पहले बालासोर के रेत माफिया पर स्‍टोरी की थी। पुलिस के मुताबिक पिछले कुछ दिनों से उन्‍हें धमकियां भी मिल रही थीं। प्रताप ने बाद में स्‍थानीय प्रेस को बताया कि वे हमलावरों को पहचानते हैं और उन्‍होंने उनके नाम की सूची पुलिस को सौंप दी। इस मामले में पुलिस ने कोई एफआइआर अब तक दर्ज नहीं की है लेकिन जांच जारी है।